The Board of Trustees of the Institute for Psychoanalysis is composed of highly successful physicians, attorneys, businessmen, mental health professionals, and academics. The Board convenes approximately every other month to conduct Institute business. We are currently accepting applications for new Board members. Please click here to fill out the application if you are interested in the following membership opportunity:

Overview of The Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis. The Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis is a leader in psychoanalytic education, scholarship and clinical services in the midwest and internationally.  Founded in 1932, the impact of the Institute’s work is far-reaching.  Institute graduates and faculty are highly skilled practitioners of psychoanalysis and psychotherapy, and are the teachers, supervisors and consultants to new generations of mental health practitioners.  The Institute offers mental health expertise to community organizations, schools, courts, businesses and other institutions, serving Chicago’s most vulnerable and underserved communities.  

Why join? In addition to giving back to the community, serving on the Board of The Institute of Psychoanalysis offers many personal benefits and opportunities.

Qualities of an ideal candidate: The Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis is looking for Board Members that are proactive, motivated leaders and team players with strong communication skills. Members should have an interest in mental health education, training and clinical services. Members will have both the time to commit and willingness to fundraise on behalf of the organization, both within one’s own network and beyond.

• Provide leadership in carrying out The Institute’s marketing, communications and development strategies
• Serve on at least one Development subcommittee (Major Gifts or Annual Benefit)
• Attend 8-10 board and subcommittee meetings, as scheduled, per year
• Raise awareness and funds for The Institute for Psychoanalysis (including major gifts and corporate sponsorships)
• Detailed Board member requirements, available upon request

Institute President (ex officio)
Erika Schmidt, LCSW

Robert Graham

Vice Chairman
Edward Kaufman, MSW *

S. Cody Engle*

Eleanor Coe, Psy.D.*

Pamela Adelman, Ph.D.
Thomas Barrett, Ph.D.
Stephen Berger *
Joan Dutton
Stephanie Fariss
Jacques Gourguechon
John Hines, Jr.
Harold Hirshman
Paul C. Holinger, M.D.
Patricia Homans
Thomas Homburger*
Joan Laser
Nancy Lawrenz, PsyD.
Eva Lichtenberg, Ph.D. *
Caroline Loeb, M.D.
Joanne Marengo, Ph.D.
Nancy Marks
Martha Nussbaum, Ph.D.
Harolyn Lee Pappadis
Judith Rhinestine
Ellen Rosenberg, Ph.D.
David Schiffman *
Donna Shaft
Michael L. Shakman *
Leslie Shaw, Ph.D.
Neal Spira, M.D.
Jesse Viner, M.D.
Sidney Weissman, M.D.
Marvin Zonis, Ph.D.

*Denotes Executive Committee


George H. Daskal, Jr.
Charles F. Davis, III
Janet W. Freund
Adele B. Gidwitz
Estelle Loeb
George Mann
Pearl Rieger
Nancy H. Weil, Ph.D.
Bernice Weissbourd
Jerome Winer, M.D.