Collage of 2019 graduation images

Photos by Tone Stockenstrom Photography, Inc. From top left, standing ovation for the graduates; Board Chair Bob Graham recognized Dean Neal Spira and Associate Dean Leo Weinstein, graduates with Director of Education Administration Alison Chandler,  Joann Dakota Cimo introduced Teacher of the Year Ann Kaplan, 2019, and Weinstein and Spira with guitars. See more graduation photos here


Faculty, students and friends of the Institute gathered Friday, June 14 to celebrate 31 graduates of Fundamentals of Psychoanalytic Thought and the Adult Psychotherapy and Psychoanalytic Education programs.

Board Chair Bob Graham, representing both the board and also President Erika Schmidt who was unable to attend, recognized outgoing Dean Neal Spira and Associate Dean Leo Weinstein for their service to the Institute over the past five years.


“They’ve been thoughtful, caring and successful in their collaboration with colleagues and everybody at the Institute,” Graham said. “They’ve also been excellent sounding boards about every proposal. Neal and Leo think things through and help us reach decisions we need to reach. As Erika stated in preparation for tonight, we’re very appreciative for that and also for their vision of psychoanalysis as revolutionary, individualistic and very powerful.”  New Dean Prudy Gourguechon’s term begins July 1.


Also recognized for service to the Institute was Dale Gody, outgoing director of the Exploring Psychoanalysis Program (Nancy Lawrenz has already taken leadership of the program, which is currently recruiting new students). The Institute Candidates Association, represented by Joann Dakota Cimo and Chris Rigling, named Ann Kaplan as Teacher of the Year.


There was also music, as Spira and Weinstein serenaded the group, and even led a singalong, on guitar.  Congratulations to our 2019 graduates:


Fundamentals of Psychoanalytic Thought

Feras Alawad*

Marina Bayeva

Mark Chapman

Laura Li Chunman*

Indrany Datta-Barua

Matthew Friedman

Sand Lan Jiang*

Leo Qiang Kang*

Lisa Ann Karaitis

Ethan Karsen

Arlette Kopeliovich*

Benjamin H. Lang

Lolly Lederer Connolly

Marielle Mershart

Michael A. Morin

Jenna Peterson

Ari Richelson

Eugene Sampson

Karyn E. Sandlos

Timothy Michael Sawyier

David Sholtes

Laurel Spindel

Olivia Torres*

Ban Ying*


Adult Psychotherapy Program

Lyndal Diane Andrews

Emily R. Knotek

Mollye Levy


Psychoanalytic Education Program

Linda L. Emanuel

Susan Pearlson

David Powell

Gail Richman


* denotes distance students